Key changes in IATF 16949 & ISO 9001

Can any organization work without Systems? If the answer is Yes, do you have any example to share? If No, then, what to do? I think, ISO 9001 Quality Management system series has done exemplary service to the globe by creating a system through which we not only establish & monitor Systems of our organization but we can also build trust over other organization if they are certified for ISO 9001.

In changing times, there are different sector-specific Standards. IATF 16949 is one the popular Standard for Automotive Sector. Let’s analyse the key changes in IATF 16949 & ISO 9001.

IATF 16949:

  1. IATF 16949 first edition was published on 1st October 2016 (IATF-International Automotive Task Force). It has replaced 3rd edition of ISO/TS 16949: 2009 (Earlier version came in 1999 & 2002).
  2. IATF 16949 is applicable for Automotive production, Service and/or accessory parts only. Automotive vehicle not meant for running on road like Tractors, earthmovers, club car is not considered for IATF 16949 certification.
  3. IATF 16949 is used in conjunction with ISO 9001: 2015 although requirements of ISO 9001: 2015 are published separately!
  4. The key goal of this Automotive Quality Management system (QMS) is Continual improvement, emphasizing defect prevention and reduction of variation & waste in the supply chain.
  5. There are 5 oversight offices (IAOB USA, SMMT UK, VDA Germany, IATF France & ANFIA Italy) of IATF which support in effective implementation.
  6. Globally, there are only 41 Certification Bodies (CB) who are permitted to conduct an audit on behalf of IATF (
  7. There are 7 IATF subscribing OEM (GM, Ford, Daimler, VW, BMW, Peugeot, FCA & Renault) who supports IATF in preparation and effective implementation of this Automotive Standard.
  8. Presently more than 66000 IATF certificates have been issued globally wherein China has a share of more than 50%!
  9. There are 5 Core Tool Manuals which support this Automotive Standard: APQP 2nd edition, PPAP 4th edition, SPC 2nd edition, MSA 4th edition & FMEA 4th edition (FMEA 5th edition is expected in June 2019).
  10. If any Customer (OEM or in Supply Chain) has their own CSR (Customer specific requirement) like GM CSR dated 1st November 2017, Ford CSR dated 1st May 2017, they are also applicable along with this Standard.

ISO 9001:

  1. This Standard (QMS-Quality Management System) is for ALL kind of organization (Automotive, IT, Pharma, Service, Engineering, Medical device)
  2. It (ISO-International Organisation for Standardization) is applicable for an organization of any size (Micro, Small, Medium, Large).
  3. The first edition of ISO 9001 was published in 1987 which was based on BS 5750 series of Standard from BSI and later revised edition published in 1994, 2000, 2008 and 2015.
  4. Presently, close to 1.1 million valid certificates have been issued by a different accredited certification body (IAF). But globally, now certificate growth has a negative trend (2017: -4.1%)

This is the first article of this Automotive series. Every weekend, you will find useful information which can make your Management system journey productive.

Do share your honest feedback and suggest topics for the coming weeks.

4 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments